Smoldering Jeff Chandler Sings!

Sunday, December 27, 2015 — Let’s start with the obvious …

THE best photo of Jeff Chandler … with Jane RussellFoxfire, 1955
foxfire_1955_publicity_bw

Jeff Chandler, 1918-1961 … so stoic … Caught his human side in Foxfire … He and Jane smolder, with a capital S … And he sings the title song, Foxfire, with another deeply felt capital S!

Beyond singing, he also WROTE the song, along with a fellow named Henry Mancini … Below, Chandler introduces his 1955 tv performance:

“Not long ago, I convinced my bosses I could sing on-key. Then I got them to let me make some records on the Decca label. Thanks to all of you, they’ve done pretty well. Here’s the latest, a tune that Hank Mancini and I wrote as a title song for Foxfire. Hope you like it.” … (I do, Jeff … I do!)

I see the foxfire glow
deep in the night it haunts me so
Is it to always be a memory for me
of love that I used to know

I watch the foxfire gleam
Where has it gone, my broken dream?
Lost in the glow of night
a love that seemed so right
I wait … and I yearn …
while the foxfire burns in my heart

foxfire_1955_publicity_3bw

foxfire_1955_poster_tall_pink foxfire_1955_poster_tall

foxfire_1955_posterThese are today’s discovery … An absolute treasure trove at Heritage Auctions, “the world’s largest collectibles auctioneers.” [August 17, 2013]

“Amanda Dartland accompanies her half-Apache husband Jonathan to a mining community where he will supervise the excavation of an almost mythical Apache treasure. His jealous rages and macho attitude cause her much misery … Amanda tries to bridge the cultural gap, and Jonathan must do the same, or he will lose her.” imdb.com

Technicolor … Arizona locations … Recorded it in late 1980s on AMC … a faded VHS copy. Popped up on Encore Westerns, 2011, for a magnifico DVD recording … The Jeff Chandler film I’d take to a desert isle.

Leave a Comment